When the customer says, “I’m good, all set, don’t need anything, thanks for calling.”

One of the most famous quotes from the great Zig Ziglar was, “Every sale has to overcome these five obstacles:  no need, no money, no hurry, no desire, no trust.”

Notice that “no need” is the first one shown, as it’s the most difficult objection to overcome, and since I love the study of overcoming customer objections and the nuts and bolts of how to sell things, today we’ll explore how we get past the “I’m all set, don’t need anything” objection.  I imagine you’ve heard it many times.

Gregory at Medtronic 10-2010 CroppedWhen we all first learned to sell, we were told to identify needs, so as we conduct discovery about the customer’s needs, it’s natural to think that we will end up with either “Needs Met” or “Needs Unmet” and that will guide us to the best recommendations.  But this is not quite so, because in the prospect’s mind all his needs are met.

I need a place to keep my money? I put it in the bank. There. My needs are met.

I need to listen to music? I have a radio. No talking to me about your product.

I need to get from home to work?  Got a car.  Need is all taken care of. Good-bye.

But in reality, that is not how people buy things.  People will buy from you if you show them that while the need is being met, it is being met poorly and that “sweet spot” of needs poorly met, is where all sales take place.

Let’s look at a very simple example in which inside salespeople are required to call existing customers on the phone to either book appointments or sell a service or product on the phone.  Quite often the customer will say, “Yes, yes, thanks for calling. Appreciate it. But everything is good right now. No need to make a change. I’m all set.”

Should you just hang up?

What if you ask a useful question here? How about:

I’m happy to hear it.  Too often I speak with people who are unhappy with the way things are going but are unwilling to make any changes or explore new ideas. I’m sure you got to where you are right now by making a strong effort to always do what’s best. Would it be all right if I learned how you’re doing this right now, and perhaps explore a couple of ideas with you?

Then, after listening to the customer’s story, you say:

Here’s what I’ve learned over the years I’ve been in this industry. I was always perfectly satisfied with my cell phone, until I found out you can get one that also takes pictures.  Before that, people were satisfied with the phone on the wall of their home, until they found out they can get one that is portable. Things change all the time, usually for the better.  Wouldn’t it be helpful to find out what is new or different today? It may be there are ideas you aren’t using yet.

In other words, give the customer an example or story, about a need that was poorly met, in which people didn’t realize it. And by using a story or example, you avoid “accusing” the customer of poor decision-making.

Remember that no one ever said, “I wish I had an iPad,” before that device was created. Now the iPad flies off the shelves, because great marketers showed customers that their present needs were poorly met.

You can do the same if you just…

Think Like Your Customer

About Gregory LaMothe
I teach people how to sell things. I own the company ActionSystems. Visit my website at www.actionsystemstraining.com.

Leave a Reply

