Fable Friday: Little things mean a lot

One of the top female recording artists of the 1950’s was the great Kitty Kallen.  She sang with Jimmy Dorsey and later with Harry James, and had many hit recordings.  But her biggest, released in 1954, was “Little Things Mean a Lot,” written by Edith Lindeman and Carl Stutz.

Gregory Solo Medtronic 2010The song was a sensation, due to the combination of the beautiful melody, the touching lyrics and of course Kitty Kallen’s pure voice. In that year she was named most popular female singer in both the Billboard and Variety polls.

Here are some of the lyrics, and you can hear the YouTube recording here:

“Blow me a kiss from across the room
Say I look nice when I’m not
Touch my hair as you pass my chair
Little things mean a lot
Give me your arm as we cross the street
Call me at six on the dot
A line a day when you’re far away
Little things mean a lot”

I was only 8 years old when the song first came out, but I remember it to this day. It makes me think often about the power of the little things in life and how they touch and influence us when others do little things for us.

Some years ago in my travels to Pittsburgh, I began using a taxi service regularly because Ray, the driver, seemed always to do the little things right.  Certainly when you get a cab you expect the driver will get you there safely, drive carefully, know the way and all that sort of stuff. But Ray also does the little things that make a difference.  The cab is always spotlessly clean.  Ray is always early and will sit and wait, not make you wonder if he’s going to show. Ray will do you any favor he can, simply because he’s a good guy. When I was talking to my son from the cab about a repair he needed to do on his Jeep, Ray said “Give me the phone,” and walked my son through the entire procedure.  Ray had run a motor pool in the Army and knew a few things about Jeeps.  I can’t imagine going anywhere in Pittsburgh without Ray.  The little things he does make him indispensible to me.

Now let’s talk about you.  When you are selling things to people, do you do the big things right, then miss the little things?  I bet you have a first-class Power Point deck, a great pitch book, and you’re a sharp dresser.

But do you remember your client’s kids’ names?  To be truly professional, it’s good to pay attention to the little things.

Send me the warmth of a secret smile
To show me you haven’t forgot.
For always and ever, now and forever
Little things mean a lot

Think Like Your Customer

About Gregory LaMothe
I teach people how to sell things. I own the company ActionSystems. Visit my website at www.actionsystemstraining.com.

Leave a Reply

