“Can you give me some ideas on how to get past the gatekeeper?”

In every prospecting workshop I do, this question ranks as number one in frequency. I’ve never done a workshop where someone doesn’t ask it, so today I’ll give you some tips on dealing with it, along with a couple of other suggestions for telephone prospecting.

The biggest challenge most prospectors have is mindset.  Instead of thinking, “This person is a colleague of my desired prospect and I should make every effort to make him or her a friend of mine,” they instead think, “This person is my dreaded enemy, trying to interfere with my job goals.”  Now that’s no way to think like your customer, is it?

Remember the old line, “How do you destroy your enemies?  Make them your friends.” So here’s what you should do.  First, get all the negative thoughts out of your head. Begin by losing the expression “gatekeeper.” This person is an administrative assistant and did not apply for the position of “gatekeeper.”  The job no doubt has a number of important duties aside from keeping you away from your prospect, so show some respect and consideration for the position.  Your prospect is important to you.  The admin works for the prospect.  Therefore the admin is important to you too.

On your first call, befriend the admin.  In my own calls I carefully and clearly spell out why I want to speak with the prospect and I tell it as if the admin is entitled to know my value proposition, and I ask for help.  “Can you put me through with him?”

If I call a number of times and can’t get through, I express to the admin my disappointment and apologies that I have taken up so much of his or her time.  “I seem always to be calling at the wrong time.  I feel bad, as I know you’re busy too, and yet you’ve been very patient with me.  I appreciate it.”

Then I ask the admin for help.  “I’m sure you have better things to do than talk to me all the time, so let me ask you what you think I should do. Is there a better day or time of day when I could call when (name of prospect) is not so busy?  I’d appreciate it if you could suggest a better way to do this. I’m sure he would be pleased to speak with me if I just got him at the right time.”

I promise you that every experienced and successful salesperson does it exactly this way.  There are no tricks, manipulative tactics or bullying that are better than your simple, professional kindness to everyone you speak with in sales. Remember too, that once you land this prospect, you will rely on the admin for help throughout the relationship, and you can safely bet that the admin will recall very well how you conducted yourself in your early calls to the company.

There are no gatekeepers out there, only potential friends and customers, so…

Think Like Your Customer

About Gregory LaMothe
I teach people how to sell things. I own the company ActionSystems. Visit my website at www.actionsystemstraining.com.

2 Responses to “Can you give me some ideas on how to get past the gatekeeper?”

  1. Dennis Maietta says:

    So true, That reminds me of my first incounter with a Gate..er ah new freind. I brought Starbucks pastries and got right to the decision maker. I thought “yea this works”. On my next stop I brought pastries only to be greeted by a very , very large women who took it as a huge insult.She threw me out but keep the pastries.

  2. Gabe Krug says:

    Well said Ribs! Gabe Krug PNC

Leave a Reply

