From the Righteous Brothers—a prospecting tip you can take to the bank

 Fable Friday returns once again with this story from 1964, when Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil wrote the great song, “You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling.”  When the Righteous Brothers recording of the song was introduced in January, 1965 it went immediately to number one and stayed there for several weeks. 

 The song made a comeback in 1986 in the movie “Top Gun,” for those of you who aren’t old enough to remember the first release.  But no matter your age, it’s a safe bet you’ve heard it at some time, since it holds the record for the most plays on radio at over 8 million.

When Mann and Weil finished writing the song, they suspected they had a hit on their hands, so they flew to California and showed it to Bill Medley and Bobby Hatfield of the Righteous Brothers.  They talked about the power of having Medley with his deep bass doing the solo opening of the song, “You never close your eyes any more when I kiss your lips…”

Hatfield wasn’t so sure he liked that idea upon learning that he would have to wait until the chorus before joining Medley’s vocal.  He said to Medley, “What am I supposed to do during your long solo?”  Medley, who knew the song would be a blockbuster replied, “You can go straight to the bank.”

And with that as my corny transition, let me give you another one of my prospecting tips that you can take to the bank too. 

 A big part of the consultative selling process is filling your pipeline with new names, and perhaps you make it a habit to ask satisfied clients if they have any names they can give you.  “Do you have any names of others who might benefit from our solutions?” you ask hopefully.  And if you’re honest you’ll admit you rarely get any names this way.  Most of the time your clients reply, “I can’t think of anyone just now, but if I do I’ll let you know.”

 The fact is, this method just doesn’t work.  So here’s one that always works, and it makes perfect sense.

 Sit down right now and create a “desirable prospect list” of the top 20 or 30 companies you would like to do business with.  Bring the list with you on every client call, and after you’ve done something to make your client happy, show the list and say, “I can only be successful if I bring in new business to my company, so I’d like your help if you can.  Here’s a list of my top prospects. Will you look it over and tell me if you know anyone who works for any of these companies?”  And if they look over the list and tell you the name of the people they know, just ask if you can use their name when you call.

They will always know someone, and often more than one and they will usually say, “Sure, tell him I said to call you,” or “Feel free to use my name.” And presto, you have not only some prospect names but a warm referral to get in the door.  It’s a foolproof method you can take to the bank.  Give it a try!

Think Like Your Customer!

About Gregory LaMothe
I teach people how to sell things. I own the company ActionSystems. Visit my website at www.actionsystemstraining.com.

Leave a Reply

