When the phone prospect says, “Send me something and I’ll look it over.”

The responses to my newsletter earlier this week were numerous and positive, so I think I hit a home run with the tip on what to do when a prospect says, “I’m not interested.”  Thanks for the feedback.

We’ll skip Fable Friday today because I promised to give you the best response to the prospect who won’t let you visit him, but instead says, “Send me something and I’ll look it over.”  Those of you who sell banking, insurance or investment services get this one a lot.  The prospect will say, “Doesn’t your company have a brochure or any literature on this?  Why not send that to me.”

 So before we get to what you should say at this point, let’s do some simple arithmetic.  How many appointments do you expect to get for every 100 phone calls you make?  Is it 3, 5, or even 10?  You will know this from past experience. So let’s suppose it’s 10, just for sake of example.  What this means is that you will make 90 unproductive calls that make you no money whatsoever.  And if this is the case, then you should try as hard as you can to qualify the prospect for likely interest, and if they are truly not interested, hang up and make the next call. That’s what the pro prospector does.

 So when prospects say, “Send me something,” you have an inkling they’re really not interested, but you must try to sort it out, and the best thing you can do is say,

 “Of course. I’ll be happy to. Now, you should know that my company has a ton of useful information, and our website has thousands of pages, so can I ask you just a couple of quick questions to help me pare it all down so I only send what is of interest to you?”  And now you have a conversation going, and once a conversation begins, it’s way easier to get that appointment.

 After my newsletter went out, I got an email from a subscriber who said, “I like the idea of asking ‘just one quick question’ but what question should I ask?”

 The response I gave him was that it almost doesn’t matter what your question is.  Your goal is to get a conversation going, but here are some questions you might consider:

“Can you share with me the company you have your business with right now and what they’re doing well for you?”

Or

 “I often feel when someone tells me he isn’t interested that he believes all his needs for this service are being met now.  Can you share with me what your bank does really well for you?”

 Or

 “As you can see, telephone prospecting is part of my job.  If you could give me one piece of feedback that would have made my call to you more effective, what should I have done?”

Notice that these are all open-ended questions and are positive in nature, designed to get people to talk.  You don’t ever want to ask, “What does your provider not do well?” because it is so clearly self-serving and will get you nowhere at all.

What other objections do you hear from phone prospects that keep you from making appointments?  Write to me and I’ll suggest answers in a future post.

 Think Like Your Customer!

About Gregory LaMothe
I teach people how to sell things. I own the company ActionSystems. Visit my website at www.actionsystemstraining.com.

Leave a Reply

