Pre-empt That Objection!

Before you object...

You’re in Business to Business sales and now it’s time to position your pricing to your prospect.  But if what you’re selling tends to be seen as a commodity, it can be a tough conversation, so let’s turn this negative into a positive because that’s what the top salespeople do, think positively!

Remember that your prospects are in business to make a profit too, and like you, they are probably pretty good at selling.  This works in your favor because a professional sales approach will be listened to and respected.  So here’s how you might position the pricing discussion:

You:  So let me go over our pricing for this service with you now.  Jim, you’re a businessman just like I am and just as with my company, you’re in business to make a profit.  But you also know it must be a modest profit or you won’t sell anything.  I mention this because in the B-to-B world it’s amazing how many customers I talk with, who while trying to make a profit themselves, don’t understand that we have to make one too.  I imagine you have some experience with that? (Remember to ask a question here to gain agreement.  Odds are the prospect has his own story or two.)

Customer:  Tell me about it!  I hear this all the time.  We operate on a pretty tight margin, but there are some customers who simply want it all and feel they need to negotiate me down to break-even.

You:  Exactly.  It’s like it upsets them for you to make a dollar.  So let me break down for you how our pricing works, and exactly what you’re getting in added service for that price…

Learning Point One:  What you have done here is taken away the prospect’s opportunity to complain about price, because you have lumped price complainers in with all unfair people who are unwilling to let you make a profit, and you have gotten your prospect to agree with you!

This doesn’t mean that you won’t get a price objection later on or have to do some negotiation, but at least the prospect shares your point of view that every company has to make a profit, and you are less likely to get a vigorous argument.  Fair is fair.

Learning Point Two:  If you do get a price objection later, the easiest and best response, so that you do NOT appear to be defensive or argumentative, is to simply say, “You know, when people tell me my price is too high, I become concerned that I didn’t do a good enough job explaining the value they get for that price, so let me go over that with you…”  Now you have held the line on price and moved the discussion back to value. Neat huh?

Give this approach a try.  Figure out the objection the prospect is likely to use and discuss it before he does.  It causes the prospect to be more sympathetic to your point of view and often suppresses the objection itself.

Remember, to succeed with your customer, you have to

Think Like Your Customer!

I send a FREE e-newsletter first week of every month.  My June issue deals with one of the practices of greatcoaches, how to deal effectively with excuses.  If you’re not signed up, just go to my website using the link to the right, click on the fancy “N”(for newsletter) in the top right and enter your name and email address.  You’ll just make the June 7th issue.  Thank you.  Gregory

About Gregory LaMothe
I teach people how to sell things. I own the company ActionSystems. Visit my website at www.actionsystemstraining.com.

Leave a Reply

