Please Don’t Hesitate…

“Thanks for your time today. I sure would love to have your business.  Here’s my card, and if you have any questions or there’s anything I can do for you, please don’t hesitate to call.”

     I’ll bet you’ve heard that closing or one like it at some point in your sales career, and now that   you see it in print, I hope you’ll agree it’s pretty awful.  I mean, who really says, “please don’t hesitate”?  Does the prospect’s hand hover over the phone, indecisive about whether he should call or not?  And after all, why should he call?  There’s no benefit or promise of forward movement.

     To be successful on a sales call you have to choreograph the close as carefully as you do the opening.  Here’s a useful four-step approach:

1)      Summarize what was discovered during the call.  This is usually 2 or 3 opportunities to help, areas where the prospect could be saving money or doing things in a better way.  “As we discussed, you now see that your trade terms with your suppliers might be eased with some discussion…” or, “You can see now that your costs for the service you’re now receiving may be excessive….” or, “Using several merchant services providers uses time and and fails to take advantage of relationship pricing.”

2)      Outline what you are going to do next.  “When I get back to the office, I’m going to analyze your inventory turns so we can find ways to improve this area…”, or, “I’m going to meet with my team and look at all three of these areas…”

3)      Tell the prospect what you expect him to do.  This is known as “implied partnership”, a form of assumptive close.  It immediately gets the prospect working with you and it’s hard for him to say no if your ideas are sound.  “Meanwhile, here is what I want you to do. Please ask your accountant to send me the worksheets…” or, “Try to speak this week with the suppliers of your three most important raw materials regarding trade terms.  I’ll bet you can save $1,000 a year in two phone calls.”

4)      Ask the prospect for agreement.  “What do you think?  Doesn’t that make sense?”

Of course step 3 is the most powerful.  You simply need to be confident and ask.

Remember that the customer wants a relationship with a salesperson who will help him run his business and make money.  So make sure you always…

Think Like Your Customer

If today’s post looks familiar, it’s because I adapted it from my May newsletter, which went out with some severe formatting issues.  I have since changed my provider.  In my June issue  I’ll discuss one of the great habits of effective coaches, as the feedback I have gotten about sales management and coaching has been very positive.  If you’re not signed up, please go to my website www.actionsystemstraining.com, click on the newsletter link in the top right and enter your name and email address.  Thank you.  Gregory

About Gregory LaMothe
I teach people how to sell things. I own the company ActionSystems. Visit my website at www.actionsystemstraining.com.

Leave a Reply

