Introduction

When I began thinking about starting a blog I planned it the way any instructional designer would.  “What are my objectives?  What should a reader get from it?”

So I’ll start with those questions.  My main purpose is to teach, enlighten, entertain, and I want to do that by showing you the so-called “back story” in much of my work, acquired over too many years to count, of teaching people how to sell things.

Where did that phrase come from, “teaching people how to sell things”?  Read someone’s resume, or see what they say about themselves on LinkedIn and other professional writing and you find language like I often find myself using, “Years of experience in instructional design… the study of Human Performance Technology….expert in developing training curricula (don’t forget to get the word “modalities” in there)…outstanding professional speaker, coach, facilitator…

And I guess I’m all those things, but yet in everyday conversation when someone says “What do you do for a living?” I just say, “I teach people how to sell things.”

Objectives:

So my first objective is to help you either sell things, or help others to sell things, and I’ll cover all the common topics, plus some you might not have considered.  My second objective is to entertain you with real on-the-job stories, problems to solve and approaches to learning design that may help you with your own work.  You might find it fun to see how a consultant works with a client to achieve the best possible result as constrained by time, budget and human limitations (all too often mine!)

After this first installment you will find one useful tip or idea every time, and I’ll try to make it something you haven’t seen or thought about.  It may be about how some approach worked or didn’t work (so you won’t make the same mistake!), or a design approach that you can help yourself to in your next workshop or sales meeting.  Or maybe it’s just a funny story about an actual experience I had.

In my next post I’ll take on a common sales topic which I chose for a good reason, one that everyone has an interest in. Here’s what I learned over many years of sales training consulting.  Whenever I talk with a client about a new training program, whether for a marketing strategy, new product or sales tactic, I always hear, “And let’s make sure to help them overcome objections.”  So that’s what we’ll discuss next.

Meanwhile, please think about this question:  What is the toughest sales objection you or your team is hearing right now, and how are you dealing with it? 

Remember…

Think Like Your Customer.

About Gregory LaMothe
I teach people how to sell things. I own the company ActionSystems. Visit my website at www.actionsystemstraining.com.

Leave a Reply

